Nonpoint “Miracle”

. Nonpoint “Miracle”. Nonpoint was formed in January 1997 by drummer Robb Rivera, vocalist Elias Soriano, guitarist Andrew Goldman and bassist Kenneth “KB” MacMillan, The band rose to popularity in the burgeoning South Florida metal scene of the mid-late ’90s.

They went on the first ever Great American Rampage Tour. On December 1, 2007 at a show in Florida, Elias broke his ankle during the first song. Despite this, he still sang the last four songs, finishing up their time on stage. On December 2, 2007 in Sayreville, New Jersey (Starland Ballroom) he was helped out on to the stage by band members and played most of the set with his leg propped up on a front speaker. During “Broken Bones” he pointed to his right leg and later explained what happened.

On September 3, 2008 the band announced via their Myspace page that guitar player Andrew Goldman was leaving the band to “pursue interests outside the world of music.” This marked the first time since the band’s inception that the original members would no longer play together. The band also announced they would begin touring again in October with a new guitar player, later named as Chicago-based guitarist Zach Broderick, formerly of the St. Louis based band Modern Day Zero.

Nonpoint headlined the What Does Not Kill You tour with 12 Stones and Anew Revolution.

The band announced that in February, 2009 they will embark on a tour with Mudvayne and In This Moment.

On January 20, 2009 drummer Robb Rivera announced that the band had parted ways with Bieler Bros. and were seeking a new label and management.

Nonpoint signs on with Split Media LLC for Management

Nonpoint records demos in Phoenix in May 2009

Nonpoint released a new acoustic EP digitally through their own 954 Records on December 8. Dubbed, Cut The Cord”, the outing will feature acoustic renditions of the following songs: “What a Day” “Circles” “Rabia” “Victim” “Your Signs” Currently the band are at Racine, WI’s Belle City Sound studio recording their next full-length album with Chad Gray and Greg Tribbett of Mudvayne/HELLYEAH handling the production duties. The effort is expected to see a spring 2010 release date.

Nonpoint have streamed a cover of Pantera’s “5 Minutes Alone” on their MySpace. The track is a bonus track for the upcoming Metal Hammer Magazine tribute to “Dimebag” Darrell Abbott which will be available on December 16.

Nonpoint released their next studio album on May 4, 2010. The first single and title track, “Miracle”, was made available on iTunes on March 30, 2010.

Miracle, the new album from Ft. Lauderdale rockers Nonpoint, debuted at #6 on Billboard’s Hard Rock Albums chart and #11 on the Alternative Albums chart, marking the band’s highest Billboard debuts of their storied decade-plus long career. The album debuted #59 on the Billboard 200, marking the second-highest debut of the band’s career on said chart. Miracle also landed at #12 on the Independent Albums chart. On the digital front, Miracle peaked at #1 on Amazon’s hard rock chart and #4 on iTunes’ rock chart.

Nonpoint will be heading over to the UK for three high profile performances — 2010 Download Festival, Metal Hammer Golden Gods Gig Boat and a show with HELLYEAH at King’s College.

After completing a US co-headlining tour with Jacksonville, Florida’s Cold, Nonpoint will be hitting the road with Drowning Pool as well as performing at 2010’s Ozzfest. Nonpoint will also be appearing at Rock on the Range and Summerfest.

The band performed at the Soundwave in Australia.

Upon reaching 100,000 likes on Facebook, the band released a free download of their cover of Michael Jackson’s “Billie Jean”.

Nonpoint will be getting the ‘best of’ treatment with the forthcoming “Icon” release. The effort will apparently span the bands earlier major label years and will include a number of rarities, including an acoustic version of their track “What A Day”, plus the rare songs “Across The Line” and “Pickle”. The set will surface through UMG on April 5. Nonpoint has stated that they have been writing new music and that the band plans to start recording a new album at the end of the year.

It has been confirmed through Nonpoint’s Facebook page that they will be recording a DVD when they have their show May 8 in their home town. The band has signed a deal with Razor & Tie Records for their new album. Nonpoint have parted ways with guitarist Zach Broderick and founding bassist Ken MacMillan.